Is Perfectionism keeping you from getting things done?

I won’t deny it – I am a bit of a perfectionist, a classic Type A personality. Now, this isn’t necessarily a bad trait to have, but can sometimes cause me to create unnecessary stress or pressure for myself. If you are also a perfectionist you have probably procrastinated when it came to getting certain projects done because you feared that you didn’t have the time to do them right or “perfectly”. So instead of doing it (what you may considered to be) wrong, you decided not to do it at all. To one degree or another we have all done this before and although I am usually good about procrastination, I am certainly not immune to it.

This has been a particularly busy summer for me, with lots of new organizing clients, a family trip and the usual house and yard to-do lists. (As I am sure it was for everyone else). Writing a new blog was just one more thing on my long list of things to get done. Unfortunately I still have hang-ups about my writing skills, since I was born and raised in Germany and consider English to be my second language. Therefore it may take me a little longer to get myself motivated when it comes to writing.

This morning, as I was beating myself up yet again about the missing blog, I suddenly realized what I had been doing during these past 2 months! The perfectionist in me had led me to do exactly what I urge my clients not to do – I procrastinated! Because of the silly notion of having to do things perfectly I ended up writing nothing. We all know that (try as we might) there is no such thing as perfect – and as soon as we make peace with this realization we will be able to go through our daily lives with a lot less anxiety and stress.

So, do I think that this blog is perfect enough to publish? Of course I don’t! However if I waited until I am 100% satisfied it may never get done :)! Besides, doesn’t everyone have their own measure of what they consider to be good?

Well, here it is – my blog for September – just as it popped into my head this morning. Hopefully it will motivate you to stop procrastinating and waiting for the right moment or circumstance to get things done – just go ahead and do it!

About OrganizingbyYve

I am a professional, residential organizer working and living in Rochester NY. My passion is helping my clients to simplify and organize their lives by cutting the clutter and teaching new ways to live an efficient and organized life. For daily tips follow me on FB @www.Facebook.com/OrganizingbyYve Visit my website http://www.OrganizingbyYve.com for more info.
This entry was posted in Organizing your home and your life, Perfectionism, Procrastination, Time management and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is Perfectionism keeping you from getting things done?

  1. Oh, yes, I’m a procrastinator because I’m also a perfectionist. It’s very hard to overcome but I keep working on it.

  2. Pingback: Monday’s Mental Muscles | Beating Procrastination « Dragonfly Scrolls

Leave a Reply

