Get organized for a relaxing vacation

I recently returned from a 14 hour family road trip and realized once again just how helpful a little bit of organization can be. Being organized will certainly decrease your stress level and simplify every aspect of your life.

I am a huge list maker and started by planning the “usual” lists of what to pack, what needed to be done in and around the house before we left and by making arrangements for the cat as well as the plants that needed watering. I revised somewhat of a “master list” a few years back that just needs some adjustment according to the time of year we take trips. Having this in place saves time and brain storming. (When composing your list make sure to add all items that could easily be forgotten, such as passports, phone chargers, medication, sunscreen, aloe and bathing suits, etc.)

Knowing we would be in the car for a long time I planned for every scenario that could possibly occur and packed accordingly. Of course we also brought lots of snacks and drinks for the week, which helped save a nice amount of money with two teens that love to snack. When our daughter was little I also planned on plenty of entertainment for her to make the trip more enjoyable for all of us.

 I like to come home to a clean house, so I make sure that everything is taken care of before we leave, this way I will only have to deal with laundry and groceries upon our return. Yes, it does involve a little bit of planning and work, but knowing that all is done eases my mind and lets me enjoy my vacation.

So start your next vacation with a little bit of planning and allow yourself to relax and recharge…just think how great it will be to know that all is done and that you will return to a spotless house!

About OrganizingbyYve

I am a professional, residential organizer working and living in Rochester NY. My passion is helping my clients to simplify and organize their lives by cutting the clutter and teaching new ways to live an efficient and organized life. For daily tips follow me on FB @www.Facebook.com/OrganizingbyYve Visit my website http://www.OrganizingbyYve.com for more info.
This entry was posted in Organizing your home and your life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Get organized for a relaxing vacation

  1. Coming home to a clean house is something my mother taught me. =)

Leave a Reply

