Essential Steps to Organizing

In my last blog I wrote about how to overcome the obstacles that keep us from getting organized. Today I would like to pass on a few simple steps for you to take in order to make your organizing project a success. I have had people tell me that they are at such a loss when it comes to getting organized, they would rather not do it at all, because they are afraid of doing it “wrong”. Let me assure you that when it come to organizing there isn’t necessary a wrong way to go through the steps, but there is definitely a way to make it simpler.

So here are just a few basic steps to get you on  your way:

1. Pick a date to start the project and schedule it in your day timer or calendar. Stick to this time and date just like you would keep any other appointment.

2. To keep from feeling overwhelmed you can always break the task into manageable “bite size chunks” – like 30 or 60 minute increments and keep chipping away at it a few days a week.

3. Have garbage bags for trash and boxes for donations on hand

4. Create 3 areas – Trash/Recycle – Keep – Donate

5. Start the purge and as you quickly evaluate each item ask yourself these hard questions:

  • Why do I have this item?
  • When did I use it last?
  • Do I need it or love it?
  • If I keep this, where should it go?

6. Sort the “keepers” by like items and create appropriate homes utilizing shelves, bins, totes or baskets. Make sure to label items stored in totes or boxes and avoid using cardboard if moisture may be an issue in the storage space.

7. Dispose of the trash, recyclables and the donations and enjoy your newly organized space!

8. Maintenance is the most important step to staying organized – schedule a time (maybe at the beginning of each season) and check to see if everything is in its place.

This may sound like a lot of steps to you, but when you break them down it really is very doable. I love organizing so much that I do it over and over again at my clients’ homes. It isn’t necessarily the process that I love so much – although I enjoy that too 🙂 – but the feeling at the end of the completed task. A feeling of accomplishment and the knowledge that you will not have to search for any of these items again since they now have a home.

If you like to find out more about my services visit my website or to receive daily tips and inspiration follow me on Facebook . I welcome comments and questions on organizing or suggestions for future blogs.

About OrganizingbyYve

I am a professional, residential organizer working and living in Rochester NY. My passion is helping my clients to simplify and organize their lives by cutting the clutter and teaching new ways to live an efficient and organized life. For daily tips follow me on FB @www.Facebook.com/OrganizingbyYve Visit my website http://www.OrganizingbyYve.com for more info.
This entry was posted in Dealing with Clutter, Organizing your home and your life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

