Feeling overwhelmed by the clutter in your home and don’t know where to start?

I recently gave a presentation where I talked about the things that keep us from getting organized, how to overcome those obstacles and how you can get started. I asked everyone this: “Close your eyes and imagine your home. Now take a tour through your “mind’s eye” and walk from room to room, open up cupboards and closets and think about how you feel while looking at each space. Do you see an organized, calm space or does the image you see in your mind create a feeling of anxiety?”  The answer for most everyone is that there are at least a few places in their homes in need of a little organization.

Sadly many times people will feel so overwhelmed by their clutter that they never get the energy or motivation to deal with it. As it happens so often when faced with an unpleasant task we will come up with all sorts of excuses – like “I don’t have the time”, “I don’t know how”, “ I am too stressed “ or “I don’t know what to let go of and what to keep”…and the list goes on.

Let me suggest this: take a pen and a notepad and write down every area in your home that you would like to get organized. When you are done look over your list and decide which space bothers you the most, then put it at the top of the list and categorize the rest of the areas in order of importance. There – now you have a plan!

It is equally important that you have a vision for each space you are planning to organize. Ask yourself what you would like this room/cabinet/space to be used for? Once you have a vision and a plan you can begin your project. (Remember that keeping your vision in mind will help you later on with the decision-making during the purging process). Break each project into attainable goals to keep from feeling overwhelmed and schedule a time at which to get started by writing it in your calendar. Whether you decide on 30 minutes a few times a week, or a few hours on a Saturday morning be sure to stick to the appointed time just like you would keep any other appointment.

I once heard it said that “asking for help is not a sign of weakness but a sign of wisdom” and I couldn’t agree more. So don’t be afraid to ask for help – enlist a family member or a friend to assist you, it will make the project easier and get it done twice as fast.

In my next blog I will be writing about the essential steps to the organizing process. Please let me know if you have questions I could address or suggestions for future blogs.

About OrganizingbyYve

I am a professional, residential organizer working and living in Rochester NY. My passion is helping my clients to simplify and organize their lives by cutting the clutter and teaching new ways to live an efficient and organized life. For daily tips follow me on FB @www.Facebook.com/OrganizingbyYve Visit my website http://www.OrganizingbyYve.com for more info.
This entry was posted in Dealing with Clutter, Organizing your home and your life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Feeling overwhelmed by the clutter in your home and don’t know where to start?

  1. I agree, asking for help is a sign of wisdom! We should not fear or hide our vulnerability. The willingness to ask for help or accept help when it is offered can make us more successful in achieving our goals. We can learn so much from others, and we are more productive with companionship, support and encouragement

  2. Kelly says:

    i think this is my problem. i don’t plan a time to actually organize things because i feel too busy with other more important things. i will have to try this.

Leave a Reply

